AAE -- Wishes Of The Heart

Epilog Part 1

written by LoveCR2 -- 2005

edited by All-About-AAE -- 2019

 

"True Love is an even stronger force than gravity, because it attracts two people from anywhere in the world and brings them together so nothing can separate them." -- Yoon Hyung-Chul

 

 

SUN-MI'S HOME, SUBURBAN SEOUL ... SIX MONTHS LATER ...

 

"... and that's how Auntie Sun-Mi and I decided to get married ..."

 

Hyung-Chul sets the wedding album aside on couch and prompts Mi-Rae ...

 

"Any more questions?"

 

 

"But, Uncle, isn't the man supposed to ask the lady to marry him?" Mi-Rae asks.

 

"Yes, that's usually how it's done," he confirms, "but Auntie Sun-Mi isn't like most other ladies, so she proposed first."

 

"Why didn't you wear a funny costume? Mommy said that when they got engaged, Daddy wore a really tacky bear suit."

 

"Every couple has their special way to do it," Hyung-Chul explains. "There's not just one way that's right."

 

"Do you still have that little stone Auntie gave you?" she asks. "Can I see it?"

 

"Sure ..."

 

He pulls out the chain that loops his neck for her to inspect.

 

After some scrutiny, Mi-Rae seems unimpressed. "What's so special? It's not even pretty, like a diamond."

 

"But this stone is more valuable than a diamond, because there's only one like this in the entire world," Hyung-Chul declares. "See? It's like two hearts fused together. It exists from when the world was made, just like True Love is intended to last forever."

 

 

"On TV when two people kiss with True Love, everything starts spinning, but I don't believe that's real," Mi-Rae states skeptically.

 

"But it's true," Hyung-Chul insists, "While I kissed Auntie that night, it felt like the whole world was revolving around us."

 

"Science says the world revolves around the sun, because of gravity, Uncle," she corrects him patiently with the facts. "Gravity is the force that attracts everything together in the universe."

 

"Is that so?" Hyung-Chul challenges her. "Who told you?"

 

"APHRA. Sometimes, when I'm bored, I chat with her. She's very smart, and she knows everything," Mi-Rae claims.

 

"That's right, but APHRA is a computer program, so she doesn't know about True Love between people," Hyung-Chul explains. "True Love is an even stronger force than gravity, because it attracts two people from anywhere in the world and brings them together so nothing can separate them.

 

"Who told you that, Uncle?" she challenges him back.

 

"It's something I learned from your Auntie Sun-Mi," he answers. "She is very smart, too. That's why out of all the men in the world, she chose to marry me, and nobody else."

 

 

"Ahem ..."

 

The sound comes from the vestibule, and Hyung-Chul looks around to see Sun-Mi standing stiffly, arms crossed, in the open doorway, glowering at them.

 

With her hair pulled back into a tight bun, and her lips pressed into a disapproving frown, she is the image of a prim schoolmarm about to lay down the law to her errant charges -- except, that is, for her chic outfit -- a strawberry red, long sleeved Bebe cowl neck sweater dress, cinched at the waist with a black leather belt, opaque black stockings, and black Zara kitten heel ankle booties.

 

"You're home," he greets her with a smile. "Er ... how long were you there?"

 

"Long enough ... What's going on here? It's almost eleven!" Sun-Mi scolds him, then addresses Mi-Rae strictly, "Young lady, aren't you supposed to be in bed a long time ago?"

 

"It's okay, Auntie. Mommy said I could stay up later just this once for Uncle to tell me an extra bedtime story since I was a good girl today and didn't complain about doing my homework and ate all my vegetables and there's no school tomorrow," Mi-Rae rattles off what she hopes is a plausible explanation to justify their breach of bedtime protocol.

 

"Joo-Hee called. She says they're coming home from the hospital tomorrow. Ah-Reum is off the ventilator and she's breathing fine now," Hyung-Chul updates his wife with the status of their friends' pregnancy crisis and premature baby.

 

"Thank God!" Sun-Mi exclaims happily at the good news. "And just in time for Christmas! Uncle must be so relieved."

 

"Sun-Dal's been biting his nails since Joo-Hee went into the ER," Hyung-Chul agrees.

 

 

Begging attention, Mi-Rae interjects, "Mommy said I have to come home. But I told her I wanna stay here."

 

"Don't you want to see your new baby sister? And play with Dae-Hyun, Ah-Ri, and Dae-Woong whenever you want?" Sun-Mi encourages the girl while she sets her office tote on the floor and steps out of her shoes into comfy house slippers.

 

"But then I can't beat Uncle at Go-Stop anytime I want," Mi-Rae counter-argues. "Or sing songs together, or listen to his funny stories."

 

"She has a point, Dear," Hyung-Chul chimes in.

 

"You're not helping things," Sun-Mi grumbles as she trudges to the couch, determined to put an end to the girl's delaying tactics ... "Mi-Rae, we'll talk about this tomorrow," she states firmly, "Now you need to go to sleep."

 

Mi-Rae looks to Hyung-Chul for a second opinion. "Do I hafta', Uncle?"

 

"Listen to your Auntie," he backs his wife. "Give a kiss, and go on up. Put on your jammies, wash up, and don't forget to brush. Call me when you're ready and I'll come to tuck you in and say prayers," he issues the commands perfunctorily ... "No dawdling, okay?"

 

"Yesss, Uncle," Mi-Rae rolls her eyes in response. "I'm a BIG girl now, you don't need to tell me EVERYTHING!"

 

She hops off the couch, stops for a quick hug and kiss from Sun-Mi, then scampers up the stairs to the bathroom.

 

 

Hyung-Chul sees his wife's stern expression is still directed at him. Before she can blink he is up and has her in his arms, planting a quick buss on her strawberry-red lips.

 

"Sit down and rest, I'll make you a drink," he offers.

 

But Sun-Mi isn't so easily bought off. She wants to say her piece first ...

 

"I doubt Joo-Hee intended that Mi-Rae stay up this late! You've got to be firm with her," she criticizes his cavalier approach to discipline.

 

Hyung-Chul decides not to point out the contradiction -- that Sun-Mi's father had equally indulged her as a child -- in her stance ... "Sorry, the time just got away from me," he tries appeasement. "I'll do better next time."

 

"And stop filling her head with those fairy tale stories," she criticizes, "I mean, spinning kisses, and all that nonsense! What will Joo-Hee think of us?"

 

"But every time I kiss my lovely wife, my world spins like crazy," he claims with a jaunty grin, lifting a suggestive eyebrow. "Doesn't yours?"

 

Sun-Mi rolls her eyes, but gives up trying to argue as he teases another kiss from her mouth, this one deeper and lingering ...

 

Yielding, she indulges herself in the strength and security of his arms. The stresses and concerns of a busy work day melt away from her mind, as the dominating physicality of his presence and the intensity of his desire kindles an ardent fire smoldering in her, too.

 

... how could she have ever imagined living without him? ...

 

 

The click of a door latch pops Sun-Mi's eye wide open as she remembers Mi-Rae is in the bathroom at the top of the stairs. Instantly her cheeks flush crimson hot, and she disengages, pushing Hyung-Chul back ...

 

"All right! Enough already," she whispers. "What if Mi-Rae hears us!?"

 

Hyung-Chul is amused that a woman who thought nothing of a lengthy lip-locking session on a public street with gawkers heckling them, would feel embarrassed in front of a child ...

 

"And if she does?" he jokily plays on her discomfiture, "I'll ask if she felt the house spinning."

 

"Tsst!" Sun-Mi hisses her dissent. "You'll do nothing of the sort! Now, get me that drink, PLEASE ..."

 

"Scotch? Or wine?" he asks her usual choices.

 

"Wine ..." she give her preference. "Don't be stingy."

 

"Hard day?"

 

"Tell you later. I need a rest first."

 

 

As he heads for the liquor shelf, Sun-Mi plops down tiredly onto the couch, closing her eyes in fatigue.

 

Meanwhile, Hyung-Chul fills her in on his day ...

 

"Ha-Eun had the sniffles when she woke up and was cranky all day. It took me an hour to get her down for the night. Between Ha-Eun and Mi-Rae's homework, I didn't have time to make dinner, so I ordered in. There's leftovers, if you're hungry. Widow Ha also brought over a jar of kimchi, the kind she used to bring for your father. I can make a quick kimchi stew, if you'd like."

 

"Thanks, but I had a late dinner with Jo Cho-Jeh, and got my fill for the day," Sun-Mi quips, playing words on her friend's well-known penchant for salacious gossip.

 

Hyung-Chul carries over two Riedel Vinum Port tulip glasses of sweet Madeira, handing one to Sun-Mi as he settles down next to her. Catching the distant look in his wife's eyes, he prompts her again ...

 

"You wanted to say?"

 

After a sip, Sun-Mi sets her wine glass down on the coffee table, and turns to describe the day's happenings to her husband ...

 

" I was on my feet since morning at the National Florists Convention, schmoozing and fending off advances from the drunk 'good-old-boys'."

 

"You'd think, with all the harassment suits, men would know to behave better," he remarks supportively.

 

"Then afterward, I went with Cho-Jeh to help her choose a wedding gown. Talk about dithering! -- My brain was about to explode! It's so troublesome dealing with a person who can't make up her mind ..."

 

Then Sun-Mi sees him grinning at her ... and instantly knows his thoughts ...

 

"Oh ... right ..." she admits her own vacillations with a pink flush of her cheeks.

 

"No wonder you're so tense," he responds empathetically, "Here, let me help with that ..."

 

He sets his wineglass next to hers and starts kneading the tension out of her shoulders and neck with his fingers. When he finishes, she rests her head gratefully against him, closing her eyes.

 

"Better?"

 

"Mmmm," she purrs contentedly. "It was a good decision, making you my CSO," she murmurs, harkening back to a day before they married.

 

"How did your speech go?" he mentions a concern she'd left home with that morning.

 

"I killed it. The Association added me to the nomination slate for next year's President."

 

"Congratulations!"

 

"I'm not sure. It means more travel," she ambivilates guiltily, "I already don't see Ha-Eun enough. She won't know who her Mommy is."

 

"You did what you think is best," he supports her decision. "Don't worry about Ha-Eun, I'll take care of her -- and you."

 

"What about your career? It's been almost a year now off work, you can't be a stay-at-home-daddy forever," she prods with a familiar chastisement. "Your father called again, asking me to persuade you to appeal reinstatement with the Board."

 

"Being the best father and husband are my most important responsibilities. That's the focus of my life," he repeats his stock justification for avoiding a return to corporate life. "Besides, where will I find time for Board meetings if my music career takes off?"

 

"Those children's songs?" Sun-Mi casts doubt. "I understand following a dream, but you need to be realistic. I'd like some help providing for our family."

 

"Mi-Rae and her friends love the songs," he justifies his efforts, "All I'm asking is a little more time, while I negotiate to cut an album."

 

 

Sensing her argument is going nowhere as usual, Sun-Mi decides to drop it, for now ...

 

"Young-Mi is being interviewed tonight on Media Talk. Let's watch," she suggests.

 

She sits up straight, picks up the remote, and flicks on the TV, just as the program is starting ...

 

"Good evening, this is MBS Media Talk. I'm your host, Kim Chang-Min. Tonight we have an exclusive interview with a person everyone is dying to hear from since her amazing comeback to the national media spotlight. She is the anchor for the 'MBS News at Nine', the host of 'My Left Foot', MBS' top-rated children's program, and national advocate for Christian Disabled Children's Fund ..."

 

"Welcome, Announcer Huh Young-Mi."

 

To the live audience's applause, Young-Mi strides onto the set. She is dressed in a knee-skimming, coral Prada skirt suit and ivory 85mm block heel Gucci 'horse bit' pumps. Her long hair is plaited into a French braid updo, solitaire pearl studs adorn her earlobes, and a silver chain necklace with a Roman cross pendant encircles her neck.

 

Young-Mi bows to the audience and host as she greets them ...

 

"Thank you. I'm so grateful to be here ..."

 

 

"Young-Mi looks so beautiful, you'd never know anything had happened to her," Sun-Mi remarks. "Don't you think so?"

 

Keeping in mind his wife's and his own history with Young-Mi, Hyung-Chul is circumspect in his reply, "If you say so, Dear."

 

 

Chang-Min opens the interview ...

 

"How do you handle both news and children's programming? Aren't they opposites in approach?"

 

Young-Mi beams a wide smile at the question ... "Actually, I find them complimentary. Working the News, it's easy to become jaded about people and the world. But being with children, one sees the hope in each new day, and the world as a magical place of wonders. So by having a hand in both, I keep a more balanced perspective."

 

"Recent polling has you as the most admired TV personality in Korea. Would you share with us, Announcer Huh, the secret behind your amazing success?"

 

"It's no secret ... I'm a flawed person to whom God, and some wonderful people, granted a second chance," she acknowledges her debt. "I vowed to use this chance, not to seek success, but for spreading love and encouragement to everyone in this troubled world."

 

"Those words may remind many of someone else ... former Announcer Jin Sun-Mi," Chang-Min suggests, hoping to introduce a bit of controversy, "How do you handle the inevitable comparisons?"

 

"In my opinion, there's no comparison. Announcer Jin is my role model for career and life," Young-Mi declares. "I can only follow in her footsteps." ... She turns to the camera... "Younger Sister, if you're watching, thank you. You mean so much to me."

 

 

Hyung-Chul hears sniffling, and turns his attention to Sun-Mi. Seeing the tears overflowing her eyes and spilling down her cheeks, he takes out his handkerchief and passes it to her ...

 

"What is it now?" he chides her. "You're a running faucet again today."

 

"I can't help it," Sun-Mi snivels as she pats her face dry. "I remember when Young-Mi and I first met, how we hated each other. To hear her say this, it's truly a miracle. How can I NOT be overjoyed?"

 

Still trolling for some spicy scoops, Chang-Min moves on to his next question ...

 

"It's rumored GNN offered you the top anchor slot for their worldwide weeknight newscast. Can you comment on that?"

 

"All I'll say is that it's not the only offer I'm seriously considering," she dangles a hint.

 

"Now, that sounds intriguing, Announcer Huh ... I can't wait to hear about it." Chang-Min turns to the camera and announces, "We'll be back in a minute with more personal revelations in this exclusive interview."

 

 

Hyung-Chul takes the remote and mutes the TV ...

 

"What other offer Young-Mi is referring to?" he wonders. "Do you know?"

 

Sun-Mi chuckles. "It's hardly news that Young-Mi and Min-Cho are an item ... Though they're not dating 'officially', he attends Mass with her every Sunday."

 

"Agnostic Atwater in church? That's a miracle if I ever heard one!" Hyung-Chul exclaims skeptically. "Is he really sincere?"

 

Sparks light up Sun-Mi's eyes. "Husband! That's enough!" she scolds him. "You're questioning the man who saved my life, and is Godfather to our daughter!"

 

 

"Sorry, I was just surprised. I thought Min-Cho swore to celibacy after you dumped him," Hyung-Chul remarks sardonically, still carrying a twinge of jealousy toward the 'other man' who had almost captured his angel's heart. "But then, he's always had an eagle eye for a beauty ..."

 

... she had told him about how Min-Cho had fallen in love with her at first sight ...

 

Sun-Mi senses his negative tone, and gives his hand a reassuring squeeze to confirm he is first in her heart now ...

 

"Actually, with Min-Cho, it's more about the intellectual challenge, and Young-Mi is definitely his equal there," she corrects his misperception. "He fell for her before the surgery -- Young-Mi says it was while sailing together -- when they recognized each other as true soul mates. You know, when a man and a woman are spending time alone together, anything might happen."

 

 

He leans closer and whispers, "Speaking of man and woman being alone together, maybe we could find out what might happen if ..."

 

"Uncle! ... I'm readddyyyy ..." Mi-Rae's impatient voice interrupts from upstairs.

 

Sun-Mi and Hyung-Chul exchange a glance and laugh.

 

"I'll be just a few minutes," he predicts.

 

"No need to rush," she assures him, picking up her mostly full wineglass ...

 

Her eyes sparkle as she flashes an alluring smile ...

 

"After I look in on Ha-Eun, I'll be in the bedroom, waiting. There's something important I have to tell you ..."